Procrastination

…and I just spent the last ten minutes surfing social media and making this little design (procrastination copy) trying to come up with a first sentence. Here goes!

I’m not one for procrastinating.  I’m the exact opposite, but somehow I’ve managed to procrastinate on a lot this summer, including blogging.  Except my version of procrastination is doing other projects that need to get done anyways.

Image

I recently finished a second painting for Augustana admissions themed around the retro Ole logo and now get to paint an entire wall in one of the offices! Additionally, I was asked to create a design for the first show in the Augustana gallery in honor of one of our retired faculty members.  My Director of Communications position has me making flyers, advertisements, sending emails, and creating logos for the beginning of the year.  To top it off, I’m working nonstop and spend my free time thinking about all the things I have to do and watching Netflix.  Writing this post is procrastination.

Yet somehow I’m always busy doing something or getting something accomplished and tonight I decided to take time off.  I went downtown to Sushi Masa to eat some of the best sushi in the entire state and got a call from home with some amazing news.  My mom and dad called to tell me I am a recipient of Augustana College Sophomore Honors, one of four students in my class!  My version of procrastination has paid off and I’m starting to see how productive my summer of procrastination has been.  I’ve networked in the Augustana and Sioux Falls communities for potential internships and jobs; made new friends through work; done more artwork on my own than I’ve ever done before; read books; taken a class; and started planning my next trip to India.  I’ve even made time for yoga and running, and, of course, friends.

Looking back at my past two years, Augustana has been the best choice I’ve made.  It’s difficult to explain to prospective students on tour my passion for Augie and all of the amazing experiences I’ve had thus far.  It’s an inspiring campus full of opportunity.  I would not have been able to accomplish as much as I have these past two years if I had gone anywhere else.  I owe it to a lot of people in the Augustana and Sioux Falls communities for encouraging me to pursue my interests and to dream big.  I’m looking forward to the beginning of my junior year at Augustana and all the “procrastination” to ensue.  It truly is a great day to be an Augustana Viking.

Leave a comment